An Afternoon on Mont Royal

Some of you may have seen my Instagram post yesterday about songwriting. I was flipping through my notebook and realized that I didn’t get many songs written last year. It seemed to be the year of bits and pieces. While I sometimes allow that to make me feel guilty for not “doing my job” or being creative enough, the truth is that there is a place for bits and pieces of inspiration that had a great start, but didn’t go anywhere. Now those little voice memos and scribbled notes are starting points, launching me into a new season of songwriting. I feel very inspired and though it can be a slow go like any creative endeavour, I’m excited to diligently work through all the bits and pieces from last year’s writing and watch them turn into beautiful songs.

One of the reasons that there weren’t as many songs being written last year was our focus on releasing Dearestly, and the huge tour we went on in the fall. While in Monteral, I got to spend a few hours before our show to take some photos with my friend Stéphane Lord on the beautiful Mont Royal. If you haven’t been to Montreal, Mont Royal is a small mountain in the middle of the city, home to a sprawling park full of forests, pathways, and parkland that makes you forget you’re in one of the largest cities in Canada. Most of the leaves had fallen when we were there making for a barren landscape that gave a stark backdrop to the bold, velvet outfits I decided to wear.

Lauren Mann

Lauren Mann

Lauren Mann

Lauren Mann

Lauren Mann

Lauren Mann

Lauren Mann

Lauren Mann

Lauren Mann

Lauren Mann

Lauren Mann

Lauren Mann

Lauren Mann

Lauren Mann

Velvet Maxi Dress: Free People // Embroidered Cape: vintage // Velvet Skirt: vintage Holt Renfrew // Turtleneck: vintage Ralph Lauren

Makeup: Pure Anada

Cheers,
Lauren.

Reply!

