THRIFTED: Across the Rockies Tour

Last month we went on a little solo tour out to British Columbia and played six shows, with a trip to LA right in the middle. You may remember me writing about how I started off the tour sick as a dog, but luckily I was able to recover quickly! One thing I love to do when travelling is visit different thrift stores. It’s so fun to find treasures that remind me of all the places I visit. This tour was no different! We were able to fit in some thrifting in a few towns and I found some really great pieces including some really practical things for our home!

021315_13

Kelowna, BC – SPCA Thrift Store

On our way out of Kelowna we passed by this old building that looked like an outpost from an old western film. I saw that it said “Thrift Store” so we had to check it out! They were having a sale on books, so I picked up a copy of Anna Karenina (which I already have, but this one is in much better condition) and Farley Mowat’s memoir “Otherwise.” I also found three vintage books in great condition that I gifted my mom for her birthday (she collects them) and kept one of the covers to add to a gallery wall.

021315_16

White Rock, BC – Project Aftershock Thrift Store

We wandered into this cool looking thrift store after eating fish and chips on the beach. It was a small store, but what really caught my eye was the jewelry and a few antique wares tucked under a table. I saw this teapot set and knew that I had to get it. It’s made in England, and I just love the bright flower design. To top it off, it was only $7! I also scored the sailor necklace, which I thought was too unique to pass up. We had a lovely chat with the lady who was working there, so I hope we can stop by again sometime!

021315_15

021315_43

Chilliwack, BC – MCC Thrift Store

You may remember from previous THRIFTED posts that I have a deep appreciation for MCC Thrift Stores. They’re usually much cheaper than other places, and they have some of the most unique items. Before our show in Chilliwack we had some time, so we hit up an MCC that was just down the street from where we were playing. We actually filmed this thrifting trip and it’s in the video we just released for our Exclusive Content Project. Anyway, that’s where I found this AMAZING cape for $5. I think it was my favourite find of tour. It’s so warm, and I love the simple primary colours. Every time I wear it I want to run away to the mountains!

021315_21

Burbank, CA – Goodwill

In the middle of our tour we caught a flight to Los Angeles for five days. We were down there to work with a producer on a new song, and of course enjoy some time in the sun! It was a pretty quick and busy trip, but the first day we were there we discovered a Goodwill thrift store just down the street from the airbnb we were staying at. I saw this print for $8 and knew it would be perfect for our house with the picture of a loom and a cat by a fireplace. (So it’s fitting that Maxine was sitting beside the picture as I was taking a photo.) Too cute. I also scored a pair of shorts, which was great because I forgot to pack shorts!

021315_18

021315_35

Since we’ve been home, I’ve been working at a local Goodwill thrift store, and I’ve been trying not to buy all the sweet deals that come in, because there are lots! Have you found any treasures lately?

Happy Thrifting,
Lauren.

Reply!

