Bring on the New Year!

happy new year

Happy New Year, everyone!! I hope you had a lovely time ringing in 2015 whether you were out with friends or just at home. We stayed in and had a relaxing evening, which was just perfect.

It’s always exciting when the new year approaches. It’s a fresh start, a time to reset, make goals and dream about what the new year might have to offer.

This past year was a crazy one for me, personally and professionally. It brought with it some of the highest highs and lowest lows I’ve ever experienced and after all the ups and downs I am so thankful to be finishing off the year with stability and rest and so much hope and anticipation for the new year. All the long and windy journeys of 2014 taught me so much about myself, and put me through some tough situations that made me really evaluate my thoughts and motives. It’s really incredible how so many of the mountains we encounter in life can inspire change (if we allow them to) and can have such a positive impact on us in the long run.

So anyway, all that being said, I’m so ready to start a new year with new adventures. With everything that’s happened this past year, I really can’t wait to see what’s next! One thing I realized about myself is that I need goals in my life. I’m not the greatest at time-management (just ask my husband!) and I heavily rely on written lists and reminders to help keep me focussed and on task. Writing down goals is really important for me, but what’s even more important is to keep going back to those goals to see how I’m doing and remind myself to keep going, or re-evaluate and change things up.

Because I like writing things down, sometimes my lists can get a little long and overwhelming, so when I was thinking about my ambitions for 2015 I wanted to keep it short and concise and make some goals that I know I can stick to and hopefully expand upon! So, here are a few things that I’m going to work towards in the new year:

1. Make time for friends. Now that we live in Calgary and have a lot more time at home than we have in the past few years, I want to really invest in the friendships that have been more or less long-distance for the past few years. It’s so wonderful being able to hang out with people and be part of a community and I want to make a conscious effort to invest time into those people who have been faithful friends while we’ve been here and there.

2. Fit yoga into my daily routine. Last Christmas Zoltan got me a pass to yoga classes at the local studio in Brooks and I was hooked. I love how yoga focuses on both the mind and the body, and is such a great all-around way to build strength and balance and a positive state of mind. And it’s not restricted by time or place, which means I can do it at home, at a studio, and while we travel. I’m currently trying to find a simple morning routine, and something a little more in-depth that I can fit into my daily routine.

3. Cook or bake something new once a month. Last week I posted a little inquiry on Facebook asking for some suggestions of cookbooks that I could cook through to not only find good recipes, but also learn the basics of cooking. Zoltan does pretty much all the cooking in our house, and although I don’t expect that to change much, I’d really like to get better and more comfortable in the kitchen. I’m going to try and keep myself accountable by posting my progress and some recipes on the blog!

4. Learn how to take photos, not just pictures. I’ve always loved photography, and although I don’t expect to become a professional, I want to get more familiar with using a semi-professional camera so I can be more adept at documenting all the adventures we find ourselves on, and taking photos for blog posts, etc.

5. Fit journalling into my daily routine. I think this is a New Year’s goal every year. This year I didn’t write nearly as much as I have in past years, and I want to get back at it. There are so many experiences that I forget about when I don’t write them down, and just being able to go back over old journal entries is a great way to see how much I’ve grown, and relive specific memories.

6. Read one book a month. I unofficially made this goal when I started the As of Late feature in November, and although I haven’t totally stuck with it, I’m hoping to get better at it. Setting aside time to read is really important to me, it means I’m taking a break from everything else going on, quieting myself, and just being still. Not to mention, I’m a sucker for a good story!

I know it’s a short list, but I think these six personal goals will keep me busy all year! Have you made any goals or resolutions for the new year? I’d love to hear about them! It’s always inspiring to hear what other people are resolving to do. I think sharing our goals with each other is a great way to stay motivated and accountable!

I hope you all have a wonderful start to the New Year! Happy 2015!

Cheers,
Lauren.

Reply!

