THRIFTED: Winnipeg, MB

There will no doubt be multiple THRIFTED posts from Winnipeg because there are just so many great treasures to be found in that fine, wintery city. Winnipeg is one of those cities that I’ve really fallen for in the comings and goings of the past few years. We’ve met some awesome people and have been able to experience so many different parts of the city, and cold and snow aside, it’s a really neat place, especially for music! We were there for last year’s Juno Fest, and got to take in a bunch of shows with bands like July Talk, Hollerado, Rah Rah, The Strumbellas, Royal Canoe, and Imaginary Cities. And when we were there this past fall, we got to see Sarah Slean perform with the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra. There’s always some sort of inspiring musical event to go to.

So anyway, this edition of Thrifted is actually a combination of two Salvation Army trips. The first trip was last summer, when we didn’t even play in Winnipeg, but ended up there for a few days at our friend Greg’s house. We stopped at Salvation Army on one of the days off and I found this AMAZING velvet skirt. Not only is it velvet, but it’s Holt Renfrew (from probably 15 years ago) and it fit perfectly! It’s one of my favourite dressy pieces because I can wear it with just about anything and it adds instant class to the outfit! I’ve definitely fallen for velvet this season…it’s so classy, and has just the right amount of texture.

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

These books were a pleasant surprise. It was nice to find vintage copies of a few Jane Austin novels, and the other three just looked so pretty that I had to get them. And this plaid scarf has become one of my go-to accessories this winter. I love how warm it is without being to bulky, and the large plaid with a pop of red goes with almost everything I’ve been wearing. I do like my scarves. One can never have enough scarves.

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

Holt Renfrew Skirt: $3

Books: 5 for $5

Scarf: $2

Well kids, that’s all for today. Next time on THRIFTED I’ll be sharing some awesome things I found at a very unexpected shop in a city that caught me by surprise.

I hope you’re all having a wonderful holiday season! Has anyone started making New Year’s Resolutions yet?

Cheers,
Lauren.

Reply!

