A Time to Reflect

Time moves so quickly sometimes, and when it does I find my focus shifting to only looking ahead to what’s next. I’m always preparing myself for the next tour, the next project, the never-ending list of things to do and I’m so focussed on looking into the distance that I forget about the present moment that I’m in.

I think it’s really good to look to the future, set goals, and be expectant of good things to come, but too much focus on the future can turn into an unhealthy preoccupation, and then we lost sight of all the good things around us right in that moment.

I noticed this a few weeks ago when we were moving to Calgary, and I was looking forward to a new season of living in a new place, a new change of pace, and some changes in lifestyle. In my conversations with people I kept saying that I was excited to start something new, when one day it dawned on me that I was in that new season. I didn’t have to expect it anymore, it was here, and it was my responsibility to respond by fully embracing where I was.

One thing I love about December and Christmastime is that it’s a season of reflection and living in the moment. We gather with friends and family, we spend time together decorating, our focus is on our families and our communities, and for a few weeks of the year, our thoughts are centred on those in need. If only we would live this way every moment of our lives! How much richer would we be, in love and grace.

This Christmas season has inspired me already to embrace where I’m at, and appreciate the moments around me that give life so much brilliance.For example, I walked out the door to take the bus to work the other day, and it was COLD. Just as I was thinking about how much I didn’t want to take public transit to work, I noticed that everything around me was covered in frost. It was a little bit like Narnia, and I was blindsided by the beauty of the moment. The thing is, those moments are everywhere and I wished I noticed them more. They’re at our fingertips, but it takes a special kind of awareness to notice them.

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

reflect4

I’m reading a book right now called A Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, and I think I posted this quote in December’s “As of Late” but I’ll share it again, since it’s been quite meaningful to me lately.

Beauty and grace are performed whether or not we will or sense them. The least we can do is try to be there.”

It’s a journey of discovery, and I hope that you will all keep discovering more and more of life’s beautiful and fleeting moments.

Cheers,
Lauren.

Reply!

