As of Late: December Edition

As-of-Late-header

Now that December has hit, the commercial world is in full-on holiday mode. We are a bit behind on that front, as we moved to Calgary on November 22 and have been busy getting settled in our new home (and playing really important shows). But we have Christmas lights on the outside of the house (thanks to my dad) and the inside is feeling more and more like home every day, even without a tree or decorations. Asides from all the moving and such, here’s what I’ve been up to as of late.

Reading…

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Pilgrim at Tinker Creek by Annie Dillard. I’m only a few pages in to this book, so I haven’t fully immersed myself, but I’m anticipating a really deep and reflective read. Here’s a beautiful quote from page 10:

“Beauty and grace are performed whether or not we will or sense them. The least we can do is try to be there.”

Listening to…

ixora

Ixora, by Copeland. One of my favourite bands fronted by Aaron Marsh (who produced Over Land and Sea) released their first album after six years of silence. And it is a beautiful thing. One of my favourites so far is Disjointed, but all the tracks are so beautiful. You can check it out for yourself HERE.

Making…

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Christmas presents! I can’t tell you what it is in the odd chance that the recipient might read this. I haven’t been making much for my Cabin Knits Shop, but it is equally as fulfilling to make things to give to friends and family. I just hope I get it all done before Christmas!

Exploring…

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

We haven’t gone on any epic adventures lately, but we’ve been adventuring in our new home! It’s so much fun getting settled and decorating, and trying to fit all our musical gear into all the nooks and crannies. I can’t wait to get to a point where we can have people over and share our space, especially since so many wonderful folk have shared their homes with us over the years. Time to start giving back!

Watching…

les mis

A few weeks ago we were on tour out to Manitoba and on our way back we stopped in Saskatoon and got to hang out with some friends for a few days. On a rare night off we watched Les Miserables, and as absurd as it sounds, it was my first time seeing it! What a beautiful movie. There were times when I wished there was a bit more dialogue, but I loved the poignancy and how the lack of dialogue conveyed a different set of emotions and connection with each of the characters.

Thanks for stopping by, and I look forward to sharing more about our new home adventures in the next few months as we take a bit of time off of the road to work on music and get ready to record a new album!

Until next time,
Lauren.

One thought on “As of Late: December Edition

Reply!

