Getting Dressed Up!

Last week we played our final full-band show of the year to finish off the Peak Performance Project that we’ve been involved with since the spring! It’s been an intense five months, and it culminated in this show to see who would win 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place, with the top prize being $100,953.00. We came in second, winning $75,000, and we are so honoured and excited to finally be able to record our next full length album.

ppp17

I’ll be writing more about that soon, but for now I wanted to share about a collaboration I did for the evening! There are some really great Canadian companies that I’ve had my eye on for a while, wanting to do some sort of collaboration but not knowing how to go about it. It was a bit out of my comfort zone, but I decided just to send some messages and see what happened, and it all came together beautifully.

First, the dress. My amazing mom took me out and bought me this lovely wine coloured crushed velvet maxi dress from Free People. It’s the kind of dress that is fancy enough for a very special occasion, but versatile enough to wear it again and again. With the dress as a foundation, I collaborated with MLKANHNY and Pure Anada Natural Cosmetics to finish off the outfit!

Madison Bodenman (the talented wife of Ross, who did the artwork for the Visual EP), runs MLKANHNY, an etsy shop of handmade jewelry that she makes out of her home on Vancouver Island. I’ve been admiring her designs for a long time, and I love the clean shapes, and timeless details that she adds to all of her pieces. She made me a lovely necklace to complement my outfit for the evening, and it was the absolute perfect fit!

Madison is always adding new pieces to her store, so I would definitely encourage you to check it out and find something for yourself or someone you love!

Next was makeup. I haven’t worn makeup for a very long time, and part of it was wanting to find a natural makeup company with ingredients I could trust, and that wouldn’t break the bank. Pure Anada is a company based out of Morden, MB that uses all natural ingredients to make top quality cosmetic products. A friend of mine, Kristen von Riesen, who we met while on tour, works at Pure Anada, and inspired me to seek out their products. She also sent me a lovely package of goodies for a bit more of a dramatic look for the show.

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset

You can order Pure Anada cosmetics here, and Kristen also has a number of really helpful tutorials that you can check out for different looks. I used the Luminous Eye Shadow in Ornate, Java, and Stardust, and Velvet Matte Eye Shadow in Black Velvet, as well as the Pureline Eye Pencil in black, and Natural Mascara in black for eyes. For my cheeks I used the Pressed Mineral Cheek Colour in Sweet Pea, and for my lips I used the Natural Lipstick in Bordeaux Cherry. Since it had been a while, Kristen’s tutorial for Day to Evening Makeup helped me get the “smoky eyes” technique. All of the products were so great to work with. I highly recommend each one, especially the mascara, and the lipstick (which actually smells great).

annimatronic1

ppp4

ppp8

ppp2

I’m so glad that I was able to collaborate with these two great local businesses for the show. Not only was it SO much fun to get all dressed up, but I love getting to share about products and people I love! What are some of your favourite local companies that you like to support? I’d love to hear about them!

Until next time,
Lauren.

Reply!

