On Stillness

When I have the opportunity to be alone and do something on my own, I embrace the chance. But usually, even though I’m on my own, I’m doing something, I’m still busy. I might be going to a shop, running an errand, or going for a walk, and even though I might find myself in solitude, there’s often still an element of movement in whatever I’m doing.

IMG_5341

IMG_5339

The other day we played at a high school friend’s wedding in Cochrane. It was a beautiful day and the venue was situated on the edge of  a coulee with a web of walking trails. With a few hours of freedom, I went for a walk all the way along the high ridge, down through a park, across a stream, and back to the venue through the woods. I took a moment to sit on some rocks at one point, and I realized that even though I was having a moment of solitude, I was still moving, and wasn’t allowing myself to be still.

IMG_5330

So I sat on these rocks and told myself to not go anywhere, just sit for a while and let my mind and body be still. It was actually more difficult than I thought it would be, but after I sat there for a time and observed what was around me, I noticed more detailed characteristics of my surroundings than I would have if I had been on the move.

IMG_5337

It was a good practice, and one that I want to be more intentional about in my life. Sometimes we need to be still. To just sit in silence and absorb what’s around us. See the little details that we might not catch at first glance, and give our mind the opportunity to rest and reflect. I think that when we allow ourselves time to rest, we are much more capable of conquering the big and little challenges that we face in every day life.

IMG_5345

IMG_5347

Live fully, love deeply, and never stop exploring.

Lauren.

Reply!

