Dried Flower Wall

A week ago, our band found out that we won the 2014 CBC Searchlight contest! It was a two month long contest to find the best new emerging artist in Canada based on public voting, and, for the last two rounds, three celebrity judges. The prizes include $20,000 of gear from Yamaha, a spot at the CBC Music Fest in Vancouver next month, and a live video recording with CBC. It was a pretty momentous occasion for us, and so overwhelming to share the moment with all of our friends, family, and fans around the world. My parents decided to drive two hours from Calgary to Brooks to surprise us at our practice space with a giant congratulatory cake! They also brought me the most beautiful bouquet of flowers, which is what I wanted to talk about today and show you the process behind a wall display I made with them.

IMG_5179

The bouquet was full of a variety of flowers of different colours. I didn’t want to just throw them out when they started to wilt, so I decided to dry them and make a display of them in the cabin while I was at it.

photo (2)

I’ve done lots of decorating in the year we’ve been in the cabin (I’ll give you a little tour sometime) but one area I haven’t tackled is above the bed. I’ve had a few ideas of what I wanted to do, but nothing was really coming together and I didn’t want to rush it until I knew I’d be really happy with it. As soon as I decided to dry these flowers, I knew that this would be the start of the transformation.

IMG_5170

So I thought I’d give you a sneak peek into the process of what I did and how it turned out! The flowers are still drying, so hopefully they keep their colour and shape, but so far so good!

Materials:
Flowers, can be bought or clipped from your garden
Twine
Cotton string
Scissors
Measuring tape
Pencil
Pins (not pictured)

IMG_5186

Step 1:

Once you have your materials gathered, measure the space where you want to hang your flowers. Make a loop on one end of the twine and pin it to the wall, and do the same on the other side. Using the measuring tape and a pencil, mark where you want your flowers to go with even spacing between each one. For example, my space was 68″ wide, and I had nine flowers to hang, so I hung them just over 7″ apart.

IMG_5172

Step 2:

Cut all your flowers to the length you want them, and remove any excess leaves. Cut the cotton string into pieces about 6″ long for each flower. Tie the string around each flower, preferably under a nub so the string doesn’t slip off. Then tie the flowers to the twine and trim the excess string.

IMG_5174

IMG_5175

IMG_5185

IMG_5178

IMG_5181

IMG_5182

And that’s pretty much all there is to it! I was so surprised how much this simple project added to the room. It’s a great start to a statement wall, but it works just as well on it’s own. If you have flowers or greenery left over, you can always add them to a vase for a table top decoration. I love having plants around the house, it adds such a lively element to a any space.

IMG_5188

IMG_5189

I hope you enjoyed this little tutorial! If you are inspired to do something similar, let me know! I’d love to see what you come up with.

Cheers,
Lauren.

Reply!

