Daydreamer

Daydreamer,
It’s all a story in your head.
Come back to earth,
Leave your foolish quest.

I’ve always had a big imagination, probably because I read too much when I was a child. I was that kid who spent summer holidays devouring books from the public library so I could fill out my reading incentive chart. I mean, I’m an introvert to begin with, so reading was a welcome escape from my three younger brothers, my key to alone time. I could (and still can) get lost in a story, and all that imagining has made me a bit of a daydreamer. Sometimes I’ll get lost in a story of my own imagination, and tune out from reality for a bit, and I can’t help but think that I’m not the only one who does that.

DSC03154-Edit

I think our imagination is a beautiful thing, but there have been times when I’ve caught myself in a daydream and realized that I was imagining something far away and unattainable because I wasn’t content with my current situation. It’s a good thing to dream and make goals, but we mustn’t lose sight of what’s right in front of us.

photo 3

Being content is somewhat of an art, and it’s an art I’ve been passionately pursuing for the past little while, sometimes making progress, sometimes falling back into my old, discontented ways. It’s like learning the secret to ultimate happiness: ever so elusive, but achievable, with a positive attitude and self-discipline. Contentment fights against our desire for MORE. It says, ‘I am satisfied with who I am, where I’m planted, and what I have.’ It doesn’t diminish our goals and aspirations, but it keeps us PRESENT, fully living in every given moment. I know that when I embrace each moment as a gift and an opportunity to really live, I am happy. I am fulfilled.

photo 1

I’ve realized that when I’m satisfied with who I am, where I am, and what I have, I have no need to worry, and therefore, I am completely satisfied. Sometimes all it takes to get to that point is to take a moment and think of all the things you are thankful for, or that make you happy. Start with yourself. What makes you happy about yourself? It’s not an ego-booster, it’s honestly identifying your strengths and abilities. Next, what makes you happy about where you are planted? This is pretty open ended and could encompass where you live, your job, your circle of friends, basically, your environment. And lastly, think of what you have and what you are thankful for. Most of you reading (including myself) have much more than we need, and much more than many people in the world.

photo 2

I think that when we’re really honest with ourselves about these three things, it will give us the perspective we need to make necessary changes, and be thankful and content with ourselves and our surroundings. Life is such a beautiful gift, and it’s a shame to waste it on wanting and wishing. Instead, let’s live as fully as we can, and find happiness in all that we do.

 

Until next time,
Lauren.

2 thoughts on “Daydreamer

  1. Lovely post…this is something that I’ve been dealing with lately. I know that I’m so blessed, but I still find myself feeling discontented. This year I’m trying to make a conscious effort to be content with my life and what I have.

  2. Love this!! With all the recent changes in my life I have spent so much time pondering the very same thing and trying to reorganize priorities and find what brings me to life day to day. Thanks for sharing!

Reply!

