Homemade Toothpaste

I’ve been on a big all-natural, homemade, no preservatives kick lately, trying to eliminate all chemicals from products I use on a day-to-day basis. It takes a LOT of time and experimenting to figure these things out, and find the right natural ingredients that do the same thing as commercial products, but the process has been really exciting. There are SO MANY natural ingredients that do more than what man-made products can do, and most people just don’t know about them! I’m trying to take advantage of our time off to learn, experiment, and find a few things that work well so I can use them on the road and better maintain a healthy lifestyle, since “tour” and “healthy lifestyle” don’t really go hand-in-hand.

One thing I had been wanting to try was toothpaste. I read some reviews of a few different recipes, and finally found a basic one to try with ingredients I had on hand. Many of the homemade products I’ve been experimenting with take a lot of time to perfect, but this was the first recipe to work really well on the first try! Of course there are a few things I’d like to add or change on the next go-round, but I’m nonetheless pleased with the result. So much so that I decided to share it with you! If you’d like to see the original post, check it out HERE.

Ingredients:
– 3 TB Extra Virgin Coconut Oil
– 3 TB Baking Soda
– 25 drops Peppermint Essential Oil
– 1 packet Stevia (optional)
– 2 TB Vegetable Glycerin (optional)

Directions:
– Mix coconut oil and baking soda together in a bowl with a fork until completely blended. Add the peppermint oil and optional stevia and glycerin and continue mixing until it becomes smooth and toothpaste-like.
– After mixing, store in an old toothpaste container or jar.

IMG_2532-Edit

IMG_2534-Edit

IMG_2537-Edit

IMG_2538-Edit

Notes:
– I didn’t use Stevia or Glycerin, and I still liked the taste. I would like to try it with both of those and see how much it changes.
– I would also like to try using a different oil such as the Thieves blend from Young Living which would give it more of a cinnamon/clove taste.
– The Extra Virgin Coconut Oil gives more of a coconut taste and smell as opposed to Organic Coconut Oil which is odorless and better for cooking. I like having a slight coconut essence.

If you decide to try this, let me know how it goes and if you decide to change anything! I’m still learning about all this stuff, and learning from other people’s experiences is a great way to do that.

Cheers,
Lauren.

PS. If you haven’t seen it yet, we announced the release of our album “Over Land and Sea” with THIS little teaser video. Feel free to check it out and spread the word!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Toothpaste

    1. Let me know how it works out for you! One thing I’ve noticed since I made it is that it gets a bit hard to squeeze because the coconut oil hardens. I’m not sure if the vegetable glycerin would help, but it still works fine. 🙂

Reply!

