The Jewish Mother – Norfolk, VA

The drive to Norfolk, VA, was an acceleration through winter into spring. What a great feeling to be in warm weather again! We had been looking forward to the show, mostly because it was at a place called the Jewish Mother. Turns out it’s a legendary bar/venue in Norfolk! We played with a local band called PHSO (try and figure out the pronunciation, I dare you. We couldn’t.) who were super friendly and cool people. All in all it was a good night. We had a great soundman and a big sound system so that was pretty cool as well.

Two girls came to the show specifically to see us, which was quite surprising! They heard about the show on the radio and decided to check it out, and they really enjoyed it. I love it when things like that happen because it means we must be doing SOMETHING right. 🙂

We had quite a few interesting (cool kind of interesting) people encounters that night, or at least I did. So I thought I’d tell you the tales.

As soon as the show was done, a guy came up to the stage and handed me a twenty dollar bill with a note wrapped around it. The note just said, “Please say Happy Birthday to Karen.” So I wished Karen a happy birthday and made twenty dollars! Then that same guy came to the merch table and forked out $25 for charity: water and told me he wanted us to play at a private party of his sometime. Totally.

Then another guy came up to the merch table and started talking to me, and I found out that he’s going to be deployed in a few days to somewhere in the middle east! It kind of caught me off guard because I don’t think I’ve ever met anyone in the Navy. Norfolk has a big Naval Military base, so it makes sense, I was just really surprised. I wanted to know where in the middle east, but I don’t think I’m privy to that info.

And then there were these three or four girls, all friends, who looked like they had stepped straight off of Salt Spring Island. (An island near Vancouver Island, BC where there are lots of “hippies.”) They were super nice, and in talking to them I found out that one of them had hiked the Appalachian Trail and slept in a hammock for four months straight! She and her friend are moving to California in the summer and then she’s going to do the Pacific Rim Trail. What a trooper.

All that said, it was a great night. Next…Hickory, NC!

Lauren.

Reply!

