In all my spare time…

This past fall, Zoltan and I were living at a camp called Circle Square Ranch in Ontario. He was working full time and I, after trying to get a job in town and just getting frustrated, ended up with lots of time on my hands. I found a pair of knitting needles in my mother-in-law’s basement and a bag of yarn in the camp’s program office, and decided to give it a go.

I learned to knit quite a few years ago while being homeschooled, but after taking a really long time to make one scarf, I put it aside and never picked it back up. I had forgotten most of the basic techniques, but after a few youtube tutorials I was good to go. I started knitting scarves, and really enjoyed it because it was easy, and used up lots of the scraps of yarn that I had, and I could do it while Zoltan was working on the computer or while watching tv.

Then I started looking at knitting patterns, and envisioning all the different things I could make, and I think I’ve become addicted. I made my first pair of slippers while on tour this past winter, and a coffee cup sleeve, and just yesterday I finished my first cowl. They’re all really simple projects, but I’m getting more and more familiar with the process and the yarns and everything.

And so, I’ve started a blog. To tell you what I’m up to, maybe post some pictures of projects I’m working on, and maybe even share some patterns, if they work out. 🙂 And someday when we are in one place for a little bit of time, maybe I’ll even branch out to other crafty things. I’ve recently been perusing blogs about “refashioning”: taking thrifted or other pieces of clothing and altering them to make them really unique pieces.

But anyway, I’m getting ahead of myself. I just wanted to let you know what you can expect from this new little venture; it’s all about things I ENJOY. And I hope you enjoy them too.

– Lauren.

Reply!

