Thoughts From The Road.

So I recently embarked on a journey, literally and figuratively, and in the process started a new job! I am now a full-time touring musician. Zoltan and I were relating our occupations to other, more “normal” jobs, and came to some interesting conclusions.

First of all, we have a very long commute to work. In fact, our daily commute ranges from four to upwards of 8 hours.

Second, we consistently work nights. I remember in all the years of working, I hated working in the evenings, especially when evenings turned into nights. But here I am, generally starting work at 4 or 5 and finishing at 9 or 10.

Then there are the drives themselves, which could be related to a desk job. All we do is sit in the car for the better part of the day, with stops every few hours to stretch and go to the bathroom. After thinking about this, I realized I need to compensate by exercising or something. Hmm…

Oh, and at the end of the day, we never really know where we’ll end up staying, which is an adventure in itself, but has never been a problem.

Anyway, when it comes down to it though, I love what I do, and I think I’m the luckiest person in the world to travel (with my husband!) and live my dream of touring and playing my music all over the country. And the people we meet along the way, the connections we make, and the experiences we have make it totally worth the long drives, the minimal food selections and the uncertainty.

If there’s one thing I would like you (if anyone reads these few musings) to take away from this, it is to never stop pursuing the dreams and hopes and aspirations that have been placed in your heart. I think God works through us in many ways, one of those being the talents that we have. So pursue that! Nothing is impossible.

Cheers.

Reply!

