solidarity

“What then? If some did not believe, their unbelief will not nullify the faithfulness of God, will it? May it never be! Rather, let God be found true though every man be found a liar.”  Romans 3:3-4

God is righteous and faithful and true even though we, as humans are everything opposite. And God continues to be faithful despite our continual shortcomings. I know when I act stupidly or say things without thinking, I feel so unrighteous. When I do things I regret, I wonder why God is still faithful, why he still loves and holds in his hands a sinner such as myself. And yet, how great is his grace and mercy!

Despite our wavering human nature, which is constantly fluctuating between living for our spirit and living for our flesh, and never certain of anything, God provides an unwavering solidarity, a solid rock on which we can stand, a stronghold in which we will not be shaken. Though everything in this world is temporary and unreliable, we can have confidence in God’s steadfast love. Even when everything about our lives could be a lie, “let God be found true.” He alone is the one universal truth, for He is the source of everything, the source of life, the source of light.

What hope that brings! When I find myself at a loss in the middle of uncertain circumstances, the love of God is an ever-present strength and certainty that I can rely on, even if it is the only thing I can rely on. And oh, how uncertain things seem all the time.

Trust in God’s unfailing love and faithfulness. And obey the Law of God, which is the manifestation of God’s righteousness on earth. Together, never forgetting, of course, the foundation of love, from which all life springs, we will be able to stand firmly and never be shaken, even in the midst of the world’s winds of uncertainty.

2 thoughts on “solidarity

  1. Great post Lauren… I didn’t even realize you had a blog. You’ve really put some thought into this I see… awesome stuff. I’ll have to check back more often.

Reply!

